2019 Fiesta Bowl "Wishes for Teachers" Grant Recipients

Fiesta Bowl Wishes for Teachers

Congratulations to our 2019 Fiesta Bowl Charities Wishes for Teachers grant recipients who won $5,000 each to fulfill their school/classroom wish! Each fall, Arizona K-12 public or charter school teachers are invited to fill out an online application detailing their school or classroom need and, after meeting the criteria, wishes are selected by random drawing for teachers to receive a $5,000 grant. Here are the 2019 recipients from Litchfield Elementary School District:

Tara Armstead - Belen Soto Elementary School

Denise Lundberg - Belen Soto Elementary School

Melissa O'Neill - Mabel Padgett Elementary School

Krissy Carberry - Verrado Heritage Elementary School

Paul Hale - Verrado Heritage Elementary School

Jamie Monday - Verrado Heritage Elementary School

Nicole Wolfe - Verrado Heritage Elementary School

Destyne Ziwisky - Western Sky Middle School

Mark Sablan - Western Sky Middle School

As part of its mission to benefit Arizonans through youth, sports and education, the Fiesta Bowl organization and its Fiesta Bowl Charities Wishes for Teachers program, powered by DriveTime, has donated $1 million total to 200 Arizona teachers for the second straight year. This $1 million granting is believed to be the largest donation to Arizona teachers.

"Teachers are so important in shaping today's students and tomorrow's leaders. They work tirelessly and selflessly every day, giving not only their time, but often money from their own pockets," said Mike Nealy, Fiesta Bowl Executive Director. "Wishes for Teachers supports, honors, and celebrates Arizona's teachers for their commitment to our children, providing resources they have only wished to have in the past." Each of the unique 200 teacher wishes will benefit teachers and schools in technology, reading, music, fitness and more.

Back to School News      Print News Article