Three LESD Governing Board Terms Begin Janaury 2019

Zuidema, Moran, Weathersby


Melissa Zuidema, Kimbery Moran, Alayne Weathersby


LITCHFIELD SCHOOLS, Ariz. – The county recorder’s office posted the final results from the November 6, 2018 election. Congratulations to Melissa Zuidema, who won the open 2-year Governing Board seat, as well as Kimberly Moran and Alayne Weathersby, who were the two uncontested candidates for the 4-year seats. All three terms begin January 2019.

The elected officials who comprise a school district Governing Board make important decisions that directly impact its students, staff, and community. As advocates for the students, the Governing Board sets the direction for the District, establishes the structure to ensure all students are served, provides support, and ensures accountability.

As an advocate for public education, Melissa Zuidema believes strongly in parent and community support for our local schools. Ms. Zuidema has served in a variety of roles for the past 12 years on multiple PTA boards in our district and she currently serves on the Arizona PTA Board of Managers as the Southwest Valley PTA Council President. She feels that our success as a district comes directly from our world-class teachers and staff. She plans to work with all stakeholders to make open-minded decisions that focus on student growth and achievement while maintaining fiscal responsibility.

Kimberly Moran was appointed to the Governing Board by Maricopa County Superintendent Steve Watson in February. She is a graduate of The Ohio State University and is the founder of her own accounting firm. Ms. Moran has served as the treasurer of the Litchfield Elementary School District Educational Foundation and Continue the Quality, a non-profit organization that promotes bond and override campaigns for Litchfield, Avondale, and Agua Fria School Districts. She currently serves as treasurer for The Church at Litchfield Park and is an active member of GALS of the WEST, Litchfield Elementary School PTSA, Western Sky Middle School PTA, and Millennium High School Band Booster.

Alayne Weathersby was the art teacher at Litchfield Elementary School for ten years and she recently began working at Millennium High School, where her daughter, a Litchfield alumna, is a student. Ms. Weathersby is the President of the Millennium High School Swim and Dive Booster Club and co-director of A Little Drama. She is also a member of Women Who Code. Ms. Weathersby says she is excited about this opportunity and hopes to focus on meeting the needs of the students and teachers.

Thank you to outgoing President Steven Yamamori and outgoing Member Sean Husmoe, whose vision and integrity were instrumental during their time on the Governing Board. Among the initiatives they worked on were school attendance boundary revisions, the hiring of Superintendent Gunning, historic raises for teachers and staff, and the District’s centennial celebration. Mr. Yamamori and Mr. Husmoe will be honored at the December Governing Board meeting. A new Governing Board president will be voted on by the Governing Board in January.

Back to School News      Print News Article