Superintendent's Message

Superintendent Jodi Gunning

Jodi Gunning
Welcome to Litchfield Elementary School District
As the proud superintendent of one of Arizona’s premier elementary school districts, it is my privilege to introduce you to Litchfield Elementary School District. With 104 years of educational excellence under our belt, we are an “A”-rated district with schools in four cities (Avondale, Buckeye, Goodyear, Litchfield Park). We are honored to educate more than 12,000 preschool through 8th grade students and employ nearly 1,500 caring professionals who are committed to helping children succeed at school and in life.
This school year is especially exciting because we opened the doors to our 16th school. Belen Soto Elementary School is a gorgeous two-story building in the Goodyear community of Sedella. If you haven’t already had the privilege of meeting the founding principal, Courtney Frazier, I encourage you to contact her at 623-547-3400 to hear about her ambitious vision for this new community gem. With more than 928 students on opening day, this neighborhood school is named after the first college graduate of Mexican-American descent from the Southwest Valley. Mrs. Belen Soto Moreno is a retired educator who graduated as the valedictorian from Litchfield High School in 1954. She and her large family have been active in the creation of her namesake school that is built on the same land where she grew up as the daughter of a farmworker. In addition to creative flexible seating in the media center and an impressive makerspace, Belen Soto Elementary School has a large community garden and an orchard with fig, fruit, and citrus trees.
Litchfield Elementary School District is best known for providing academic rigor in a caring environment. While our students are consistently ranked among Arizona’s most successful on standardized tests, we actively balance their academic achievement with exceptional social emotional learning. With a steadfast commitment to Conscious Discipline, an evidence-based social emotional learning program, we are committed to creating positive school climates where adults and children self-regulate, connect to the people around them, and solve problems in healthy ways. Our award-winning staff is empowered to use daily rituals and strategic activities that ultimately enhance school safety, increase staff retention rates, and help children feel safe and loved so they can access their brilliance.
We welcome students, families, employees, and all stakeholders to our growing Litchfield family. Our doors are open to willing partners who want to join us in our mission to connect, educate, and empower our Litchfield family and community.


Your education partner,









Archived Superintendent's Message